Histcon.se Time, Memory and Representation Tid, Minne, Representation

A Multidisciplinary Program on Transformations in Historical Consciousness

Ett mångdisciplinärt forskningsprogram om historiemedvetandets förvandlingar

About Time, Memory and Representation

Time, Memory and Representation is a research program that gathers 27 scholars from 14 different disciplines, for a joint exploration and development of recent transformations in historical consciousness, and its implications for the human and historical sciences. The program is funded by Riksbankens jubileumsfond (The Bank of Sweden Tercentenary Donation). It is organized from Södertörn University, but researchers are recruited from all six major universities in Sweden (Uppsala, Lund, Stockholm, Göteborg, Linköping, and Umeå). Further, an international board of experts contributes to Time, Memory, Representation with expertise in various fields covered by the program.

Since the launching of the program in 2010, it has organized eight internal two-day symposia, as well as a number of co-organized scholarly events and conferences aimed at a broader academic and public audience, among them Comparative Humanities Conference (27-28 October 2011, Södertörn University), Monument and Memory (Stockholm School of Theology 16-18 June 2013), The Phenomenon of History (University of Copenhagen, 18-19 April 2013), as well as Art of Memory, a research symposium with Bonniers konsthall on 4 September 2013.

The members of the international advisory board Hayden White, Joan Scott, Aleida Assmann, Nick Couldry, Frank Ankersmit, Jeanne Marie Gagnebin de Bons and Walter Mignolo have held public lectures at Södertörn University, as well as joint seminars with the group of TMR scholars. The lectures by Joan Scott and Aleida Assmann have also been published in the Södertörn Lectures series. As part of the conferences, artists and writers working on issues of memory and representations of history have been invited discuss with the researchers, among them Esther Shalev-Gertz and Mikael Lundberg, as well as Ola Larsmo and Steve Sem-Sandberg.

So far, the program has produced two joint publications, Rethinking Time and Historiens hemvist. The latter is divided into three volumes focusing on “The Forms of Historical Time”, “Ethics, Politics, and the Historian’s Responsibility”, and “Media, Memory, Materiality”. Individual publications by the program scholars are available below “Publications”.

The program also hosted a final conference 10-12 September 2015 in Sigtuna, Sweden, on the topic “The Ethos of History”, including keynote speeches by Aleida Assmann, Berber Bevernage, Achille Mbembe and Joan Scott. The conference program, including paper titles, can be downloaded here (.pdf).

Produced by MarsApril